NBA Player Says He’s Gay

My ears have been getting assaulted frequently since yesterday by what they (various media outlets) apparently construe as HUGE BREAKING NEWS VERY IMPORTANT TO MY LIFE. Some NBA player has declared his gayness to the world.

So, why would this be important to me? Why do I need to hear about it every half hour when I’m driving or listening to the radio while I wash dishes? Is it a danger to me? Is it financially important to me? Does it have some sort of medical interest to me; i.e., are the genes for men having basketball skills inextrictably linked to homosexualism? No? Is he using the media as a dating aid, in that he wasn’t getting hit on enough from like-minded men? Would the media perform the same service for a world-famous interior decorator that would like the world to know that he’s really a closet heterosexual?

How do I put this politely to the media? I. Don’t. Care. I don’t give a shit about the NBA, any of the players, or their sexual orientation. I don’t care about ANYBODY’s sexual orientation except mine. I don’t know why it’s such a big deal to the media.

10 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    kcduffy said,

    I could NOT agree with you more!

  2. 2

    kcduffy said,

    Reblogged this on Pixie Place II and commented:
    Swampie and I agree 100% on this whole kerfuffle. What I want to know is, if it ain’t no big deal…howcum it’s the lead damn story on every “news” page I’ve seen, being remarked on by everyone from the newest NFL draft picks to The Current Occupant of the White House?

    • 3

      swampie said,

      Thank you. It just got on my last nerve this morning after hearing about it every half hour on the hour. And real news like Benghazi and the incredibly horrible and disgusting abortion doctor is buried.

  3. 4

    no2liberals said,

    Another example of Look…over here…a shiny thing.
    Meanwhile, Kermit Gosnell’s case has gone to the jury.

    • 5

      swampie said,

      In this case, the news media are accomplices that are deliberately seizing upon the most idiotic excuses for news for 24/7 coverage while not covering the stories that are important.

    • 6

      swampie said,

      God. It’s like the cheesiest conspiracy theories ever playing out in real life.

  4. 8

    swampie said,

    That’s for damn sure.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

