Mother’s Day Candy

My mother told my brother who told me that all she wants for Mother’s Day is a big ol’ sack of rabbit poop. Well. I don’t want to brag, but I can produce a 50# sack (or more!) of just about any kind of poop there is. Duck poop? No problemo. Chicken poop? Lots of it! Sheep poop? Oh, yeah. Rabbit poop? Yeah, those little guys go constantly.

It doesn’t seem quite right, though, to only present your mother with a sack of shit for Mother’s Day. I need something else. I’ve been doing the flowers in a vase thing for a few years because, hey, they are going to die, and you don’t need to feel guilty when they’ve gone to that great florist shop in the sky like you do with a live plant. Plus, I usually go with chocolate, too. Mom has a serious sweet tooth.

Considering the whole sack of poop thing, maybe I should get her some actual living plants this year, you think? I did get her some chocolates. They were gift boxes of chocolates. They were on special buy one get one free. I’d give her both boxes because hey, she’s my momma and she deserves chocolate. But here it is, late at night, and I find that I’m a bit on the hungry side. Would it be really bad of me to break into that second box of chocolates? It would, wouldn’t it?

I need to go plant shopping tomorrow before we get the kids. I hope I don’t kill whatever I get before Sunday.

5 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    kae said,

    Years ago I finished up at a job and the guys there presented me with some great gifts.

    One of the gifts was a truck load of aged stable manure. I had the best bulbs the year I planted them with that (no bulbs these days, can get down to plant, but can’t get up – and they rot in summer as it’s sub-tropical here).

    It was one of the best gifts I’ve ever received.

  2. 2

    swampie said,

    The few flowers I managed to plant this year were eaten by the sheep yesterday. I guess I’m just not a very good flower person anymore. Ten years ago, there were hundreds if not thousands of flowers around.

  3. 3

    kae said,

    My flowers are mostly in pots here, and they’re not well. I forget to water them sometimes.

    At the moment I have a passion for growing frangipanis (plumeria) from seed and I have over 200 in pots, they’re only small though. They’re main interest at the moment so others suffer.

    I’ve found a lot of self seeded plants in my back yard and I’ve potted them up and swapped them with a local nursery for pots. And a couple of plants.

    Plumeria are easier than roses, I used to have heaps of roses, but they have all just about gone to God.

    • 4

      swampie said,

      I only have one surviving rose plant that the sheep have not yet succeeded in eating. They’re trying, though. Oh, how they try.

  4. 5

    kae said,

    I gave up on roses. Had heaps of them about fifteen years ago, but drought and borers killed them. Over 52 plants of which two only survive.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

