Sleep Deprivation or ADD?

By yesterday, I had seriously had it with myself. I was going through days in a complete fog and, when SwampMan arrived home, was completely unable to give a coherent recital of anything that had transpired during the day. I was a wreck. I barely managed to get the morning ewe and lamb feedings done, the sheep released, the chicken and duck pens moved on pasture, eggs gathered, chicken and duck feeding/watering done, dishes washed, dinner started, and laundry done, with the occasional floor vacuuming and mopping thrown in before SwampMan arrived home in the late afternoon, and maybe a visit or two to Georgia thrown in during the week.

I was not a happy camper. I had quite a bit to accomplish when I left my job, and the only thing that was accomplished was half the roof being repaired and reshingled, thanks to my brother. The other half will have to wait until the rainy season is done, I think, because we’ve been getting torrential out-of-season downpours. I have fencing to replace, house to paint, various house repairs to do, and I have not been able to do ANY of it in the two and a half months since I resigned.

I was ready yesterday to call a psychiatrist and make an appointment to get started on ADD medication. Maybe my ADD had finally gotten out of control since I was no longer under a tight schedule and posting TO DO lists everywhere. (I couldn’t focus long enough to generate to do lists or they would still be posted everywhere.) Then, of course, I forgot to make the call.

I rode with SwampMan last night to pick up some lumber, and he asked whether I was mad at him. “No. Why would you think that?”

“You haven’t said a word to me since I picked you up.”

“Oh. Well, Puppy woke me several times last night barking, and I’m just really tired…..” Then, of course, the solution to why I was so distracted hit me like a flying duck upside the head. D’OH! I’d had bronchitis for about three weeks at the end of February/beginning to mid March, and had suffered constant sleep interruptions because of coughing. SwampDaughter’s three kids started staying here on the weekends in February because their Mommy had a new job working overnights Friday, Saturday, and Sunday, and daddy was off with the National Guard at least one weekend per month, and usually works Saturdays when he isn’t National Guarding. I sleep *very* lightly when they’re here in case they should awaken during the night, and they usually go to sleep about 1 a.m. and the littlest wakes about 5 a.m. And I had the windows open at night, now, to let in the cool evening air. The puppy will find me no matter where I sleep, and sleep underneath that open window. Every time an armadillo sneezes in the night, BARKBARKBARKBARKGRRRRRRRRRBARK. Then when Puppy barks, the chickens all start giving out their loud alarm calls for about half an hour before settling down. Then the cycle starts all over again.

I am not suffering from suddenly worsened ADD. I’m suffering from acute sleep deprivation. I haven’t had an hour of uninterrupted sleep for WEEKS. What a relief!

I was up cooking before the alarm went off this morning when SwampMan got up. “How did you sleep?”

“Um, okay, why?”

“No, I mean HOW did you sleep? I woke up this morning at 1 a.m. to pee, and dang Puppy was barking right under the window. You had the blankets wrapped all around your head, so I guess you muffled the sound. And I’m ready to shoot ALL the damn chickens.”

Yeah, I wasn’t awakened but about four times last night. I’m really sleepy, but functioning. I’d put my shooter’s ear muffs on to sleep in, then wrapped the blanket over the top of ’em. If it’s warm at night and the blanket isn’t wrapped around my head, it’ll probably scare the hell outta SwampMan when he wakes up.

AND we’re gonna butcher some damn chickens. Especially the sumbitch sitting on the patio crowing at me this morning.

7 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    kcduffy said,

    Nope, no ADD.

    The hormone replacements I take make me very sleepy, so I take them at bedtime…usually out cold for 4-5 hours. I have slept through a thunderstorm that shook the camper to its foundation when we were at Torreya. If Kaylee’s with me, I skip them, just in case. Needless to say, a campering weekend has me longing for bedtime come Sunday and Monday!

    I have ear muffs, too, but don’t need them so much since we moved to hammocks.

  2. 2

    swampie said,

    I WANTED hormone replacements when I hit menopause and got the hot flashes from hell (or at least a preview), but my doc said nooooooo. They’re too dangerous! Yeah, well, you think they’re dangerous, you should be around me when I’m sleep deprived.

    She did have me on trazodone and I slept much better then, too. Maybe I’ll take it again.

  3. 3

    kcduffy said,

    I’ve been on HRT since 2000. They will pry my hormones from my cold dead fingers… Trazadone worked for me for awhile, then noticed some side effects I wasn’t happy with. Replacing a naturally-occurring enzyme like thyroid and hormones seems much less troublesome than a drug, for me. And it’s working quite well, I think!

  4. 4

    swampie said,

    Here’s something you’ll appreciate. I *thought* I slept fairly well through the night. However, I found after I went back outside that apparently, sometime in the night, I’d opened the sheep gate from the backyard so that Puppy could chase whatever the hell he was barking at. The reason I found that was that the sheep were in the yard happily munching away at the only flowers (pink ones!) I’d planted this spring.

    My poor deceased flowers. I should have left you at the garden center for a better person to care for you.

    In the meantime, the ol’ ram has a snotty nose and breathing difficulties. Pasteurella pneumonia, I suppose. I gave him oxytetracycline and haven’t checked him again because I’m afraid he’ll be dead. Guess I better go back out and look (sigh). This cold/hot/cold/hot/torrential downpour/dry weather can be hell on livestock. Plus his best buddy, the senior ram, died earlier this year. I have him in with a young ram and yearling ewes to keep him company, but I guess it isn’t the same as hangin’ with his old buddy.

  5. 5

    kae said,

    I do’nt know how you had time to work with all the chores you have at home!

    “AND we’re gonna butcher some damn chickens. Especially the sumbitch sitting on the patio crowing at me this morning.”

    LOL. When I moved here to a rural plot 4 ks out of town (7 by road), on 1.5 acres I was really disturbed at night by crowing roosters. They drove me nuts. In the early 00s it was worse, I had to get up for work at 5am and was away from home working and commuting for 12 hours a day. I needed my sleep. I hated those roosters! I wanted to kill them all. Some would go all night, or start up at midnight or 3am and keep me awake.

    Some idiots think they need roosters for eggs. Bah!

    Anyhow, being 54 going on 55 now there’s a lot to be said for going deaf.

    • 6

      swampie said,

      Heh. I’m one of those idiots (that has roosters). It isn’t so much the eggs as the chicks!

      • 7

        kae said,

        How far away are your neighbours?

        The idiots have roosters ‘cos they think they need them to get eggs – thus, my idiot tag for them.

        The idiots don’t want chicks, they just want eggs!

        You are most definitely not an idiot.

        Anyway, where’s your nearest neighbour? The chook* pens are across a small valley from, about 500 feet away from me, and years ago one was next door, only about 30 feet away.

        (Chook is Aussie vernacular for chicken.)


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

