Happy Mother’s Day!

Flowers-Mothers-DayInstead of a 12-hour-overnight schedule on the weekends, my daughter’s schedule has changed to 9 hours in the afternoon/evening on the weekends, and a couple weekday evenings (off at 11) during the week. The off at 11 part rarely happens, and I worry about her until I see on her Facebook page that she’s on the way home. It doesn’t matter if it is 1 a.m. or 2 a.m. or 3 a.m. I will be awake until I know she’s at home safe with her family. That is probably why so many Facebook pages have things on them like “I’m at work now. I’m on my way home now.” It isn’t because their friends have to know their locations every single minute of the day. Nope. It is for the mothers.

My son’s job is waaaaay worse. He works 150 feet in the air, 12 to 16-hour shifts, 7 days a week until the job is done. I try not to think about that at all. He never tells me where he is or what he is doing on the grounds that I worry too much. How can a mother, who watched those first tentative baby steps, read books at night, shooed away the monsters in the closet, fixed the boo boos of the physical sort (scraped knees) and later, tried to assuage the anguish of the broken hearts, not worry about their children even after they’re grown? “You don’t need to worry about me. I can take care of myself! After all, I learned this stuff from you and dad!” he confidently assures me. “That’s DIFFERENT!” I want to scream. “Your daddy and I were adults!” But that would not be a good argument to use on somebody that has a daughter going into middle school.

It must have something to do with Mom genes. My mother still worries about me.

Happy Mother’s Day to all the mothers out there worrying about their children (which is all of you). And for you new moms, the worrying NEVER ENDS.

12 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    kcduffy said,

    I am an anomaly. My mother doesn’t worry about me at all. Or my brother. She spends all her energy on her youngest and HER family. Finding a Mother’s Day card is a challenge with that kind of a relationship.

    On the other hand, I try not to worry about my kids. Really, I do. And most times I succeed quite well. I never wanted to be an overbearing, tell-me-everything-so-I-can-fix-it kind of mama. Maybe I went too far the other way. But she’s a good young woman who insists on finding her own way in the world, for which I am truly thankful.

    Her gift to me was a painting she did. And a sappy card.

    And I didn’t cry.

    Much.

    Happy Mother’s Day, Swampie.

    Now, which day you wanna do lunch? ๐Ÿ™‚

    • 2

      swampie said,

      Ohmygawrsh, we DO have to do lunch! Let’s see…..I have a grandson birthday this week, grandson and brother birthday next week, daughter’s birthday the week after, Dylan’s graduation ceremony from kindergarten is sometime in the next two weeks, Arizona graduates from 5th grade sometime this month, I’m helping SwampMan build rocking chairs for the school retirements after school, Mom has a doctor appointment sometime this month, I have a haircutting appointment (I think) Wednesday unless she forgot to write it down which is possible because she was swamped, and the grandkids will be here over the weekend and Memorial Day. There’s an award ceremony for students at my old school, a luncheon at SwampMan’s school where I know all the people and used to volunteer, and a lunch at another school where I used to work and have a lot of friends.

      Where am I gonna get the money for all this?

      Hey, instead of lunch, you want to rob a bank? Liquor store owners are usually too well armed.

      • 3

        kcduffy said,

        Oh, HELL yeah! I can borrow Duffy’s balaklavas to use as masks!

        How about breakfast one morning? I’m “free” till 1130, and I’ll get up as early as necessary. Kaylee’s in school for MOST of the next 2 1/2 weeks….Duffy has Thursdays off so he could come that day…and gets off work at 11am on Fridays & Saturdays, but this coming Saturday I’ll be cleaning house for my 1 client from 0930 till about 2-230…

      • 4

        kcduffy said,

        Here’s a thought (Duffy’s idea)…you tell me what day, and where to go, and I’ll come follow you around, feed whatever you tell me to, carry or hold or move whatever you tell me to, and we can chat while you do your chores. No dress-up or clean-up necessary. I’ll bring the Krispy Kremes, you make the coffee. Just pick a day. 8)

      • 5

        kae said,

        Hey, KC

        Krispy Kremes?

        Okay, I’ll come over and help Swampy with the critters, etc, too.

        ๐Ÿ™‚

      • 6

        kcduffy said,

        Let’s have a critter-feedin’ party at Swampie’s! I haven’t had a Krispy Kreme in YEARS…so looking forward to it LOTS!

  2. 7

    jendaisy said,

    Check your email! I sent you a pic of what I did on mothers day!

  3. 8

    swampie said,

    Well, Jen, I think I got you beat on what YOU did on Mother’s Day! The high point of my MD was dragging a bigass dead ram, by myself, by hand, bent double, across the pasture away from the barn so that the buzzards could eat him. If you were here, I might have gone ahead and cut him open to check out to see if he had any tumors.

    When I got inside reeking of Big Dead Animal on a Hot Day (because I had to wait for rigor to set in well so that I could drag him….I’d tried to drag him that morning but he was too floppy), SwampMan was all bent out of shape because I hadn’t started cooking dinner yet. So, I cooked dinner. And I did not take a shower first since time was of the essence. And I didn’t eat any of it.

    • 9

      jendaisy said,

      Yeah, the dog in the pic had tumors in his intestines, stomach, etc. Nothing like a MD necropsy! I would have def cut the poor ram to get a look-see.

      • 10

        jendaisy said,

        Oh yeah, dog was a 120pd golden..

      • 11

        swampie said,

        Your tapping the chest of the dog with the tumors made me think that maybe that was what Omar’s problem was since the oxytet didn’t help at all.

  4. 12

    kae said,

    Once your a Mum you worry about your children. Forever.

    Once a Mum, always a mum!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

