Caffeine-Free Doesn’t Work For Me

I was pretty exasperated by eating “right” and not losing *any* weight. I added a 3-mile per day walk to be scaled up gradually to my previous 6 miles per day. “Where else could I cut?” I asked myself.

Well, that was easy. I’ve a HUGE weakness for sweet tea. So, I cut out sweet tea and started keeping water with a few lemon slices in the fridge.

The last few days have been pretty horrid. I would wake up with a terrible headache and drag myself through my day. I went to get my hair cut yesterday and didn’t say a word as I sat for a couple hours waiting for my cut. I was asked if I were sick. Nope. I could barely keep my eyes open. I blamed the weather change until this morning.

This morning, I woke after SwampMan had already left for work. I hadn’t cooked his breakfast. I hadn’t handed him his lunch as he walked out the door. I didn’t run to get the gate so he wouldn’t have to. What the heck? My eyes were pounding from my headache. I stumbled into the kitchen for a glass of lemon water and the BC Powder which I’d picked up at the grocery store the previous day (for Yankees, BC Powder is pulverized aspirin and caffeine).

Within a (very) few minutes, the headache started to resolve. Angels started singing. It was a beautiful day. All was right with the world! I finally made the connection. This wasn’t about the weather. It was about the lack of caffeine.

I brewed tea and dumped it in my lemon water. If Gawd had intended me to be caffeine free, I wouldn’t have ADD. I’m trying Stevia as a sweetener for the first time, too. We’ll see.

12 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    kcduffy said,

    I drink half caff coffee and decaf tea…but it took awhile to regulate the system toward that.

    And I’ll stick with sugar, thenkyewveddymooch! Don’t like ANY of the substitutes, and that includes honey.

    • 2

      kcduffy said,

      I also drink regular Coke during the day. Long as I don’t drink caffeine after 6, I’m good!

    • 3

      swampie said,

      I used to live on Cokes then Diet Cokes. I got to where my stomach couldn’t take ’em anymore @ 15 years ago. They’re supposed to be gluten free (less than 20 ppm), but maybe it was the sheer number I was drinking….

      • 4

        kcduffy said,

        The family business – and my first job – was Coca-cola Bottling of Northern Montana. When I didn’t pay for ’em, I probably drank a case of pop a day. Of course, that ended about the age of 19 or 20…And I WILL NOT consume that diet crap! šŸ˜‰

        I seem to have a cast iron stomach. Once in awhile I get irritated intestines (IBS), and I’m non-diabetic hypoglycemic, but my tummy is pretty sturdy. I can eat or drink almost anything – especially since I quit drinking & smoking!

    • 5

      no2liberals said,

      I use Equal on everything. I use about a pound of sugar every two years for cooking, except when I decide to do some baking.
      The no sugar in my diet includes no alcohol.
      I attended a three day seminar on Curandero many years ago and I was selected to be the subject of an experiment due to my obvious level of fitness and strength. What I discovered about sugar that day and how it instantly makes you weak when consuming only a pinch between the finger and thumb left an indelible impression. I’ve demonstrated this to many people over the years and they have all left the demonstration astonished how they were instant weaklings from such a tiny amount of sugar.
      Only natural sugars are good for you, not processed sugars.

      • 6

        swampie said,

        Isn’t Equal a processed something? Okay, I’m using agave nectar. Or was. SwampMan had a fit about the lack of sweet tea, so sweet tea is in the fridge and if it’s in the fridge, I’m gonna drink it. With as much sugar as is in my diet, y’all ought to be surprised I can lift my head off the pillow in the morning.

        I know, I KNOW, I need to be back on the low carb. I’d feel better and be slimmer.

      • 7

        swampie said,

        I’ve never met a curandero before. Was it fascinating?

      • 8

        no2liberals said,

        The seminar was conducted by a professor out of Edinburgh, Pan American Uni. There was some very useful info, got some CE points and had to do an in-house training session on it at the hospital where I was working.

      • 9

        no2liberals said,

        Yeah, Equal/Slenda/Sweet Thing are all better living through chemistry, but they ain’t processed white sugar.
        Dextrose, sucrose, fructose…that’s the good stuff.

      • 10

        swampie said,

        Well, dang. I was expecting an ol’ fraud Carlos Castaneda-type character.

      • 11

        no2liberals said,

        Well, I should have said “Curanderismo” and not “Curandero.”
        The prof had spent much time with Curanderos both in South Texas and Mexico and knew his stuff, though he was an atypical stuffed shirt know-it-all egotistical academe type.

      • 12

        swampie said,

        I have a lamentable (or not) distrust of academia because so many have an almost childlike belief that if it is in a book, It Must Be Correct.

        Having lived in the working world prior to getting educated ‘n shit, I routinely fabricated data to keep the government off my back. I know how easy it was/is (just making shit up), especially since most folks are too lazy to check it.

        Of course, after getting all educated n’ shit, I found that most data being sent forth is still fabricated (but at a higher level) to placate the government. The only people that appear to believe it are government officials and academia. The “educated” people have a tendency to believe the data of the underling workerbeasts. Why? Arrogance, possibly. Thinking that if people don’t have a degree, they wouldn’t be smart enough to just make things up. *sigh*


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

