SwampMan Has a Lot of Courage, But….

Nobody can doubt that SwampMan has a lot of physical courage. For example, just yesterday evening, as we got out of his truck to go into a restaurant, he casually commented “You know, your hair looks like SHIT!” and laughed. What can I say. You have to actually HAVE hair for it to look like shit. AND we’d just gotten back from dropping the kids off at their house over toward the intercoastal waterway in Jax. And SwampMan’s A/C in his truck is on strike.

I’ve been wearing baggy pants, capris, and shorts to deal with the humidity and heat with the result that my legs are getting rubbed raw from the wet fabric. I threw a load of clothing into the washer this morning and went out to ask SwampMan if he thought my tight leggings and a long T-shirt looked okay to wear to the grocery store, or whether I was too fat to wear that. Somewhere in the recesses of SwampMan’s reptillian brain there must have been dim whisperings of “DANGER! There be DRAGONS!” because his face started going through contortions as he tried to figure out what to say. His eyes widened. His eyebrows raised. His lips moved without saying anything, then he stuttered. He finally came out with “I don’t like those pants on ANYBODY outside the house. But maybe with a different shirt.”

Poor SwampMan. I’m supposed to be helping him build a rocking chair today, and I’m going to be really late waiting for those clothes to line dry (grin) so that I can run to the grocery store before I go to “work”.

*sigh* I really do need to go on that diet and exercise program.

9 Responses so far »

  1. 2

    kcduffy said,

    Hey! Only 50% chance of precip tomorrow – so how ’bout that lunch? Or breakfast! Or brunch! Your choice on where! Call me!

  2. 3

    kcduffy said,

    THAT was fun! Thank you for calling, and for having lunch with me, and for the eggs! Hope we can do it again soon!

    • 4

      swampie said,

      That was great fun! We chattered away like old friends and, now that I think of it, we were! Thus starts the saga of Mighty Mouse and Amazon Woman.

      I meant for my hair to be violet so that you would know immediately who I am, but I guess the colorful shirt was good enough.

      • 5

        kc said,

        Yes, we have been friends for awhile now, haven’t we…so good to finally see you face to face. Your hair need not be wildly coloured, I’d have known you anywhere…

        We have begun…look out, NEFL!

      • 6

        kae said,

        It’s always great fun to meet the people you meet on the web. I’ve had lots of fun meeting people I know from Tim Blair’s blog, and quite a few of them I’m still in contact with and see around the blogosphere even now!
        Some are at Catallaxy Files blog…

      • 7

        kcduffy said,

        Kae, if you EVER get the chance, you gotta come visit! The three could tear this county apart! I have a camper with toilet facilities, so you wouldn’t even have to have motel money, just plane fare!

      • 8

        kcduffy said,

        BTW, I posted something here under one of my other accounts, and it hasn’t shown up. I did it on my Kindle, and it even still shows up there…but not here, on my desktop. That is SO weird…

      • 9

        swampie said,

        Oh, my. I’m kinda lazy about checking my spam filters, so I’ll go look and release you from Bondage. Ever so often n2l gets stuck there, and so does SwampDaughter.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

