What We Did Last Week

In the past week, we’ve loaded/taken to the scrap metal buyers approximately 13,000 lbs. of steel. I dropped a beam on my foot, have a broken finger so I won’t be flipping anybody off for awhile, and am covered in cuts and bruises. SwampMan was practically injury free until he sliced his arm open very nicely this morning, about a 6″ gash. We both suffered heat exhaustion toward the end of last week and had to take a day off because we were too sick to continue the next morning.

I have to say that it is looking much nicer around SwampMan’s barn. Our neighbor groused to me that she wished that HER husband would get rid of some of his metal stuff lying about, but he feels like he might need it someday. SwampMan pointed out, correctly, to the woman that it wasn’t HIM that had dragged his feet on getting rid of pieces of buildings and such, it was ME. I admitted my fault, but in my defense said that I keep thinking that the economy will turn around, and we could go back into business again. SwampMan and the neighbor woman both scoffed loudly because, let’s face it, if the economy were a dog, it would have been put to sleep by now. “Besides”, they both agreed “nobody in their right minds would have employees now”.

It’s now 11 p.m. The temperature inside the house has cooled off to 81 degrees. I went to Winn Dixie earlier in the evening for dog and cat food. I started feeling really hungry in the air conditioning. I came out of the store with salmon, peanuts, potato chips, various cream cheese flavors, celery, etc. When I got home in the heat and started unpacking the groceries, I was not feeling well. Just the THOUGHT of salmon makes me want to hurl now. I sat down with a small bowl of salty chips and, when the bowl was finished, I was feeling a little better. I just needed to replenish my salt.

11 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    kcduffy said,

    If you are going to live like a Florida aboriginal, you must actually LIVE like an aboriginal Floridian. They did not survive by eating poorly and working wrong. They survived by adjusting to the weather, not bulling through it like some kind of ignorant CongressWeasel.

    Are the chickens laying? Got a couple stewing chickens I could take off your hands, for a price? 🙂

  2. 2

    swampie said,

    Well, remember that I was doing this sort of outside shit in construction for 20-odd years. I got all soft by working inside for awhile. I just have to adjust.

    Yeah, the chickens are laying despite the rain and heat, albeit grudgingly. I’ll be gone tomorrow to help some friends and SwampMan get their classrooms in order. I may also be gone Friday for a doctor’s appointment in Georgia with Mom and lil’ brother. I’m selling @ 30 ducks as soon as he can get a truck in to pick them up (my place is under water again).

    • 3

      kc said,

      I don’t think I can adjust…I worked warehouse (bottling plant) in a Montana summer, and construction for several years in ‘M and Texas. That was B.K. and I ain’t that way no more. Somehow, being this age makes it more important to eat and work differently…I don’t heal as fast as I used to…

      Give me a call when you can – I’m free Saturday morning and Monday. 8)

      • 4

        swampie said,

        Saturday morning I’m going to be cutting more metal stuff up with a torch. It would probably be best to stay far, far away since I’ve been known to accidentally start fires that way.

  3. 5

    ligneus said,

    You work too hard! It’s good too though, isn’t it?
    via your ‘nobody in his right mind would have employees now’ I compare your honest hard working life with that of the effete girly-man obama and his multi million tax dollar vacations and the old question arises, is it blind ideology, sheer stupidity or deliberate policy to wreck the country? I say it’s the third a la Mugabe, but of course that includes the other two.

    I hope your flooding eases off, but in my silly optimist way I think it’s not as bad as drought! [I just have a horror of drought.]

    • 6

      swampie said,

      Yeah, getting that old stuff cleared away is kinda sad for me. OTOH, I’ll have room to do the concrete planters and countertops that I want to do but haven’t had the space for.

    • 7

      swampie said,

      And you’re absolutely right. Flooded pastures are better than dusty dry pastures. I just wish we could mow the grass in the yard. It’s up past my knees in some places.

      • 8

        kcduffy said,

        Our front yard looks lush – a lot like it did when we first moved here in ’89, without the trees. Heck, we even have trees now – planted sycamores last year and they are growing quite well this year, thanks to all that rain. It is nicer to mow than the sand and dust I was mowing a couple years ago, though.

        Duffy will be out of town till Friday, Sunday and Monday are fully scheduled right now, but let me know if we can get together after that! 8)

      • 9

        swampie said,

        Yeah, Monday is full for me, too (SwampMan is impatiently waiting for me to come outside and work right now). Tuesday through Thursday is okay; I’m keepin’ grandkids Friday – MSunday, I think.

      • 10

        swampie said,

        Dang, WordPress isn’t letting me correct my typos today. Since I can’t see half of my comments when I’m typing, sometimes I forget where I’m at.

      • 11

        kcduffy said,

        Meet you in Callahan Wednesday, if that’s cool with you? You pick the spot. Just let me know what time – I pick Kaylee up at 8, so any time after that!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

