The End of a Romance

If I had been gifted with a beautiful singing voice (which I was NOT), I would have wanted it to sound like Linda Ronstadt’s voice, the voice of an angel. Had I been gifted with a beautiful face (ditto), could it ever have been as beautiful as Linda’s?

I suppose the good Lord knew what he was doing by not giving me any discernible talents WHATSOEVER (glaring at heaven because somebody’s going to have to EXPLAIN this one day), but to be able to sing without children crying “Mommy, make her STOP!” would have been wonderful.

What must it be like to have had the voice of an angel for so many years and then to have it taken away by Parkinson disease? I can’t imagine.

I was flipping through all the videos on YouTube with Linda Ronstadt trying to find my favorite. Well, they are ALL my favorites. I remembered a hard time in my youth. I was all torn up by a youthful romance that was not going well at all as young people (and the not so young) sometimes experience. I was madly in love. He was madly indifferent. I listened to this sad song on the radio and realized that no matter what I did, it would never be enough.

I walked away determined to never again try to turn myself into somebody else’s ideal and to just be me instead. That’s worked out fairly well for me even without the voice and beauty. Thanks for an era, Ms. Ronstadt.

Here’s a song I used to use as a lullabye for the kids before they got old enough to beg me to turn on the radio instead:

7 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    ligneus said,

    Maybe this works for you,

    Born Yesterday.

    Annotate (For Sally Amis)

    Tightly-folded bud,
    I have wished you something
    None of the others would:
    Not the usual stuff
    About being beautiful
    Or running off a spring
    Of innocence and love —
    They will all wish you that,
    And should it prove possible,
    Well, you’re a lucky girl.

    But if it shouldn’t, then
    May you be ordinary;
    Have, like other women,
    An average of talents:
    Not ugly, not good-looking,
    Nothing uncustomary
    To pull you off your balance,
    That, unworkable itself,
    Stops all the rest from working.
    In fact, may you be dull —
    If that is what a skilled,
    Vigilant, flexible,
    Unemphasised, enthralled
    Catching of happiness is called.

    Philip Larkin.

    But then poor Sally had a terrible life.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sally_Amis

    • 2

      kcduffy said,

      I’d settle for ordinary…but the dull & rather stupid that I am seems unfair to my family, they deserve better.

      At one time I had a bit of a singing voice – a bit like John Denver. Those days are long gone, now…I wouldn’t speak at all if I didn’t have to. Maybe a bit envious of Linda, she could really belt ’em out!

      • 3

        swampie said,

        Heh. That’s kinda like sayin’ ol’ Al Einstein was a kinda dull, stupid guy. And I bet he never went wilderness hiking for a week or more at a time, sleeping in a tree-slung hammock during storms.

        If you stop speaking, I’m going to have to psychically divine what you’re telling me. And my psychic divination tells me that you really want fried catfish ‘n grits for breakfast.

      • 4

        kcduffy said,

        Durnit, you’ve made me cry, Woman…and I don’t care what your divination skill tells you, I ain’t eatin’ catfish or grits while I still have dehydrated chicken taco filling! 😀

      • 5

        swampie said,

        I’m probably not ever going to be invited to tell somebody’s fortune or look into their future.

      • 6

        kcduffy said,

        You and me both! ^_^

    • 7

      swampie said,

      Goodness. What a horrible family she had to contend with.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

