“When I Grow Up, I’m Going to be a Babysitter!”

“MeeMaw, when I grow up, I’m going to be a babysitter!” Zoe told me while she was playing with Play-Doh (pink, of course). “I will change her clothes, feed her, wash her, and change her diaper!” Apparently Zoe will only babysit little girls when she grows up.

“MeeMaw, when you grow up, you should be a babysitter, too! It will be fun!”

“I dunno. I think I want to be a cowboy when I grow up!” I told her. “NO! I want to be a fireman! No, I mean fire girl. And when Mommy and you grow up, you can be fire girls too!” So when Zoe grows up, and her mommy and I grow up, we can all be fire girls together, ride in a fire truck, and squirt fires with hoses. Hunh. I will be sliding down the pole to leap into the firetruck when I’m 70ish. I might better up my workout regimen from not at all to occasionally.

“Can we be babysitter fire girls? Can we squirt the babies with hoses?” I asked hopefully, which probably means that I will never be allowed to be a babysitter. I’m sure the government is putting this in a file on me somewhere.

“NO, MeeMaw! Hoses are ONLY for FIRES, not babies!”

“MeeMaw, there’s an antfly!”

“Well, I need to see what an antfly looks like. Where is it?”

“I don’t know! I think it abra cadabra itself, and now it invisible.”

Don’t you just hate it when antflies do that?

Guess it’s time to go to the grocery store because Zoe is crying. It seems Dylan abra cadabrad her into a frog with her magic dragonfly wand. Stuffed animals are flying, and it is only a matter of moments before something gets broken, or SwampMan is smacked in the face by a flying monkey while he naps.

They’re going back to Mommy and Daddy tomorrow, and there will be no antflies, or magic wands, or stuffed animal wars or wide awake children at 1 a.m. This time around, I savor childhood for I know how fleeting it is.

10 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    kcduffy said,

    So…breakfast on my way out of town tomorrow morning? 😀

    • 2

      kcduffy said,

      Leaving early as possible this time to get home before afternoon thunderstorms kick up. No Kaylee this time, she’s staying here.

      • 3

        swampie said,

        Oh, my yes! Sorry didn’t get the message sooner. We were outside, then took kiddies for ice cream, then home to their mommy, then we went out to eat at a restaurant the kids do not like (imagine that), then came home to no electricity in the storms, and then electricity on and off all evening. Didn’t even realize you’d called until a few minutes ago! It is after 10 p.m. and I still need to feed chickens, dogs, cats…..

      • 4

        swampie said,

        Should I call after 10 p.m.? I dunno…I know normal people are asleep by that time.

      • 6

        swampie said,

        Still up?

  2. 7

    jenny said,

    Hey!! Looked up school supplies for Nassau and happy to find out the supply list is much smaller and way more affordable!! Yay!!

    • 8

      swampie said,

      Told you! Plus, the schools are waaaay better.

      • 9

        kcduffy said,

        I’m so glad they’re getting outta Duval!

        I have revised an old saying about a place in my home state – we used to call it Butt, Montana. The A**hole of the Earth. I can’t make the WORDplay different, but I don’t feel the same way about Butte, I’ve changed it to all of Duval County…and/ or any other metro area on the east coast. Awful, isn’t it…

      • 10

        swampie said,

        Yep. But Duval didn’t really start going to hell until government policies made it impossible for American citizens to get a labor-type job.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

