We Really Should Pay Rent For Our Table

KC and I had breakfast again before she headed back to the west side of Florida. She was under strict orders from her husband to leave by 10:00 a.m. so she would miss driving through any late afternoon thunderstorms that might pop up on the way.

As usual, she was a delicate, lovely little flower dressed all in white. As usual, I was dressed in denim with splotches of mud (and probably chicken shit). We’d had a series of terrific thunderstorms the night before, and I raced to the restaurant after feeding livestock.

Maybe I should have checked little Zoe’s purse before we took her home yesterday because I couldn’t find my keys, although I am perfectly capable of misplacing my keys all by myself. I put them in the fridge if I have them in my hand while putting away groceries. I run them through the laundry. Mostly, if I bring them inside, I casually toss them on my desk, where little Zoe has been playing with her dinosaurs all week. Then I had to roust SwampMan because I needed his keys to his vehicle. After thinking it through when I got home, I realized I had driven SwampMan’s truck last because of groceries, grandchildren, and rain (his truck has a back seat, mine doesn’t). Since I didn’t need to unlock the door and was carrying groceries and grandchildren, I’d left them in his truck. SwampMan will not be caught dead with keys on a hot pink lanyard. I looked inside the console, and there they were! Little Zoe is innocent (this time).

As per usual, I shoveled in a breakfast that would put Godzilla into a somnolent slumber, while KC nibbled daintily around the edges of hers. For the first time in a long while, we had no children at our table, so the exchange of opinions may have been a little more forceful than usual.

It was great fun. Despite there being only two at our table, I’m pretty sure we were the most raucous group. It was much different than last time, when KC brought along a guest that was riding with her to the other side of Florida. She’d warned me ahead of time about the lady’s liberal leanings so that I would behave myself verbally, so I was almost on my best behavior. I’d much rather be on my worst behavior.

6 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    kcduffy said,

    We are MUCH funnier – and louder – when it’s just us. TONS of fun, and the most perfect send-off!

    • 2

      swampie said,

      Heh. It keeps me happy for the rest of the day!

    • 4

      kcduffy said,

      One other thing…I am NOT a delicate little flower! I wear white because I like it better than black and the fashion world seems to believe those colours are the only ones I need to choose from. That tank top I’ve had for 13 years…and it’s MUCH more comfortable to shed the ‘foundation garments’ after breakfast and before I head West, and therefore drive in more comfort than before. 😀

      Maybe a delicate little prickly pear cactus… 😀

      • 5

        swampie said,

        Heh. I was wondering when you would notice that! I was thinking more like a jumping or teddy bear cholla. It’s deceptively fragile and delicate looking, but just brushing against those soft-looking spines means that you’re going to be employed with a set of pliers to pull out spines for the next hour.;…

      • 6

        kcduffy said,

        Oh, I noticed it right off. But I didn’t feel like continuing to post things on my phone – kinda clumsy, makes me tired, which makes me even clumsier.

        Just to set the record straight, there ain’t nuthin’ teddy bear about me, except for the similarity between me and that cactus! ^_^


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

