I HATE Reality Shows With a White Hot Heat

SwampMan and I were sitting in front of the TV, flipping through the channels, and saw a program that looked like it might be informative in the TV jungle of sluts, morons, and UFO crap. I’m sure sluts, morons, and UFOs all have their place, but not in my living room. We all know sluts, morons, and people that chase UFOs so I really don’t need to watch any shows about it. So we turn on the aforementioned interesting titled show, and damn if it didn’t turn out to be a “reality” show with people throwing down tools and having hissy fits. Apparently television producers believe that people doing their job in a professional manner doesn’t interest people and that there will be more dramatic interest if tool throwing and name calling is taking place.

Well, the television producers are wrong. It isn’t entertaining, it’s annoying. If I wanted to watch stupid people throwing hissy fits, I’d be working for Obama’s reelection campaign.

I could be persuaded to change my mind about reality tv if fit throwers got laid out with a shovel, then the damage to the shovel deducted from their last paycheck. Now THAT’s reality tv I could get into.

7 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    no2liberals said,

    I have no idea which show you were watching.
    Some of them are pretty good, but I can do without all the relationship crap. Like Top Shot, I just dvr it, then fast forward to the non-shooting parts. Problem solved.

    • 2

      no2liberals said,

      I really like Swamp People, too.

    • 3

      Swampie said,

      Oh, dang, I don’t remember the title now. I like Mike Holmes. I like Meteor Men. I like shows where people work together towards a goal, not a show where people talk about each other behind their backs for the camera, so to speak.

      • 4

        kcduffy said,

        Ditto. Ditto. Ditto!

        I like Top Gear. I like Holmes. Are those reality shows? I dunno, I’ve never willingly, knowingly watched one for long. No Survivor
        or Idol at all, ever. Watched Jon&Kate for awhile, till she drove me nuts…which didn’t take long. I enjoyed Junkyard Wars when we were in Hawai’i. I get a kick out of Dual Survival, because I know those guys (in different bodies). I’ve also watched the one with Bo Grizz or whatever his name is, with Duffy a couple times. Meh. I don’t watch competitions much – some Iron Chef America is about the extent of that. And I still love This Old House. Is that reality?

      • 5

        no2liberals said,

        I don’t know who Mike Holmes is.
        I don’t care for all the interpersonal crap and the dissension, that’s why I dvr those shows that have an interesting subject and watch the recording while fast forwarding through all the nonsense.

        Like K.C., I like Top Gear. I record Top Shot while watching ‘Justified’ then watch the one hour recording in about 15 minutes.
        Never watched any of those ‘pop’ shows like Idol.

  2. 6

    Swampie said,

    Yep. Just give me the information and skip the relationship crap. I like shows where people rebuild car and truck engines for better-than-new performance, then put the vehicle through its paces. Just show me HOW, not a buncha wrench throwing crap.

  3. 7

    Gotta agree with you there. Unless it’s an accurate documentary about science or history (and there are getting to be fewer and fewer in that category), reality TV is crap.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a comment