Archive for March 30, 2010

DAMNIT! Ma Nature is Cutting My Income

The first four lambs have been born. MALES. Damnit. And, instead of producing twins, the last two ewes to lamb have produced singles. Big, strong, healthy singles, but singles nonetheless. D’OH! Instead of two $100 lambs, I’ll be selling only one.

The very existence of one of the new lambs is rather miraculous. His momma is 14, a doddering old age for a ewe. She was doing pretty well considering her advanced age until she had a barnyard accident and cut her knees into the joints which got infected. Then, while recovering from that, she contracted a near fatal case of bluetongue virus and wasted away to skin and bones. She has not regained much weight and her walk is a painful shuffle. I had hoped that her final lamb would be a female. So much for hope.

I heard another ewe out there calling. I better check for new or lost lambs!

Leave a comment »