Archive for November 28, 2010

I Planted Cabbage But I Dunno Why

We had so many things planned to do over our Thanksgiving holiday. There was lots of work that needed to be done, as always. Our fences are still in pitiful shape, rusty fence with whole sections that have fallen out and rotten posts all held together with hay rope. I was going to finally get my winter garden put in and all my greens planted. Mmmmm. Mustard greens. Turnip greens. Collard greens. Nope, nope, nope. The house was going to get painted this winter, and we need to do roof repair work. We REALLY need to do roof repair work. Didn’t work out that way at all.

We spent the entire weekend (including today!) with me draped over, under, and inside SwampMan’s truck handing tools, collecting parts, and going back and forth to the parts store. SwampMan is MAD. Said he’d NEVER have another new truck. I pointed out that the problem is that it is nearly 20 years OLD and parts are failing. He wants something that doesn’t have electronic components that fail and then won’t generate a computer error message because it doesn’t have a damn computer. Or injectors. Or sensors. If there’s a fuel problem, it will be either the pump or the carburetor. We’re talking 1960s or 70s technology here.

On the other hand, nearly all the electronics under the hood now are nice and new. It still isn’t fixed, but we *think* we know what it is now.

To satisfy my urge to plant, I planted cabbage. I do hope the squirrels, rats, ducks and chickens haven’t devoured the infant cabbage plants yet. Their survival is doubtful even if the critters don’t get them. The ground is dust. There’s no (working) hose connection near where I planted them (need a new deep well pump that we probably won’t be able to afford until January), and I’ll have to carry water to them daily. I wonder if I planted them because I have this incredible urge to garden, but don’t really even care much for cabbage and if they all die (like, for example, I forget to water them for a couple days), it wouldn’t be that big a tragedy. Maybe the tragedy would be if they all survive. What would I do with all them damn cabbages?

Comments (8) »